CEcD & Basic Economic Development Course

Certified Economic Developer (CEcD)

The Certified Economic Developer (CEcD) is the highest designation in the economic development profession and is offered by the International Economic Development Council (IEDC).

Economic developers seeking certification through IEDC are required to take a minimum of six professional development courses and one required workshop, including:

Core Competency courses (all four required):

  • Basic Economic Development Course (BEDC)
  • Business Retention and Expansion
  • Economic Development Credit Analysis
  • Real Estate Development & Reuse

Elective Competency Courses (minimum of 2):

  • Economic Development Finance
  • Economic Development Marketing & Attraction
  • Economic Development Strategic Planning
  • Entrepreneurial and Small Business Development Strategies
  • Neighborhood Development Strategies
  • Management Economic Development Organizations
  • Technology-led Economic Development
  • Workforce Development
  • Foreign Direct Investment & Exporting

CEcD Exam Essentials Workshop

In order to sit for the CEcD exam, IEDC requires applicants to have at least four years of consecutive, paid, full-time economic development-related experience.

Basic Economic Development Course

Each year, AAED partners with IEDC to provide the Basic Economic Development Course. This course counts as credit toward obtaining the CEcD certification.

Basic Economic Development Course